Go to navigation

School closures

Industrial action

Two of the teachers' unions, National Union of Teachers (NUT) and National Association of School Masters and the Union of Women teachers (NAS/UWT), are due to hold a national one-day strike on Thursday, 17 October 2013.

We have included a list of schools, which may be affected below but please note it is compiled from information provided by schools and, therefore, may be incomplete or out of date. For current information, parents and carers are advised to check individual school websites or contact their school directly.

Schools partially open (contact school for classes affected)

  • Barnsole Federation
  • Bligh Federation
  • Bishop of Rochester Academy
  • Byron
  • Chatham Girls
  • Elaine Primary
  • Fort Pitt
  • Greenacre
  • Greenvale
  • High Halstow
  • Horsted Federation
  • Hundred of Hoo
  • Luton Juniors
  • Rainham Girls
  • Rainham Mark
  • Robert Napier
  • Rochester Grammar
  • St Helens CEP School
  • Silverbank PRU
  • Sir John Williamson Math School
  • St Marys RCP School
  • Stoke Community School
  • Temple Mill
  • Thamesview School
  • Thomas Aveling
  • Walderslade Girls
  • Walderslade Primary School

Schools closed

  • Luton Infants
  • Howard
  • Maundene
  • Pheonix Junior
  • St Thomas of Canterbury RCP School

Snow closures

For the most up to date information on schools closures please check your school's website.

Most closures are listed on BBC Radio Kent's school closures page.

To hear the latest Medway and county wide weather updates listen to BBC Radio Kent, kmfm or Heart Kent.