Go to navigation

Who's in the Cabinet?

The council appointed Councillor Alan Jarrett as Leader for a four-year term at the Annual Council meeting on 27 May 2015. The Leader appointed Councillor Howard Doe as Deputy Leader and eight Cabinet Members, details of which are set out below:


Service area  Portfolio Holder  Areas of responsibility


Councillor Alan Jarrett

  • Strategic leadership of the Council
  • Communications and marketing
  • Finance

Deputy Leader and Housing and Community Services

Councillor Howard Doe

  • Adult learning
  • Archives
  • Development and management of the Council's housing stock
  • Disabled adaptations to housing
  • Events and Festivals
  • Greenspaces
  • Heritage
  • Homelessness and Housing Options
  • Housing Landlord Services (HRA)
  • Housing Management and Allocations
  • Housing Strategy
  • Leisure Services
  • Libraries and Community Hubs
  • Private sector housing
  • Sporting Legacy
  • Theatres and Arts
  • Tourism
  • Voluntary Sector

Adult Services

Councillor David Brake

  • Adults' Mental Health
  • Better Care Fund
  • Community Care
  • Health
  • Independent Safeguarding and Review Service
  • Older people
  • Partnership Commissioning (Adults)
  • Public Health (Lead Member) including
    Health and Wellbeing Board, commissioning of treatment services for drugs and alcohol 
  • Services for people with learning and physical
  • Telecare/Telemedicare

Business Management

Councillor Rupert Turpin

  • Bereavement Services
  • Business Management
  • Commissioning
  • Community Centres
  • Community Officers
  • Customer Contact
  • Democracy and Governance
  • Emergency Planning
  • Income generation
  • Internal Audit
  • Registration
  • Revenue & Benefits
  • Risk Management

Children's Services - Lead Member (statutory responsibility, including education)


(See Note 1)


Councillor Andrew Mackness

  • Adoption
  • Children and Adolescent Mental Health Services
  • Children with disabilities
  • Children's social care
  • Early help, including Medway Action For
  • Early years
  • Inclusion
  • Looked after Children (including fostering,
    care leavers and residential care)
  • Partnership Commissioning (children)  
  • Safeguarding
  • Special educational needs
  • Youth services
  • Medway Commercial Group (MCG)

Educational Attainment and Improvement



Councillor Martin Potter

  • Educational Improvement
  • Further Education 
  • Primary and Secondary Education
  • Safeguarding
  • School Organisation and Student Services
  • School Services
  • Schools Liaison 

Front Line Services

Councillor Phil Filmer

  • Parking
  • Public transport
  • Roads
  • Street cleaning and waste collection/
    recycling/waste disposal
  • Traffic management
  • Transport Strategy
  • Travel safety

Inward Investment, Strategic Regeneration and Partnerships

Councillor Rodney Chambers OBE 

  • Heritage Champion
  • Inward Investment
  • Local Growth Fund
  • Medway Ambassador  
  • Strategic Partnerships
  • Strategic Regeneration and Planning

Planning, Economic Growth and Regulation


(See Note 2)

Councillor Jane Chitty

  • Economic Development
  • Local Plan
  • Markets
  • Planning Policy
  • Regulation - Environmental Health, Trading Standards, Enforcement and Licensing (executive functions only)
  • Social Regeneration
  • South Thames Gateway Building Control Partnership
  • Travellers 



(See Note 3)

Councillor Adrian Gulvin
  • Business and Administration Support Service
  • Category Management / Procurement
  • Community Safety Partnership
  • Complaints Policy and Management
  • Council Plan
  • HR
  • ICT
  • Joint Ventures
  • Legal
  • Performance and Service Improvement
  • Property
  • Transformation



Note 1:The roles and responsibilities of the Portfolio Holder for Children’s Services are set out in statutory guidance “The roles and responsibilities of the Lead Member for Children’s Services and the Director of Children’s Services," under sections 18(7) (Director of Children’s Services) and 19(2) (Lead Member for Children’s Services) of the Children Act 2004

Note 2: The Leader and Full Council have delegated the council's building control functions to the South Thames Gateway Building Control Joint Committee. The terms of reference of the committee are set out within the council's Constitution and include executive and non-executive functions. Cllr Chitty is appointed to sit on the South Thames Gateway Building Control Joint Committee.

Note 3: The following services will fall within the remit of the Resources Portfolio, in relation to the Community Safety Partnership:

  • Tobacco control, excluding smoking cessation services
  • Community safety aspects of alcohol and drug misuse
  • Public health aspects of promotion of community safety, violence prevention and response.