Go to navigation

Qualifying countries

A number of Commonwealth and European citizens who live in the UK are entitled to register to vote as long as they are old enough (18 years and over) and are not legally forbidden from voting.

Commonwealth countries

Antigua and Barbuda Jamaica St Lucia
Australia Kenya St Vincent and the Grenadines
The Bahamas Kiribati Samoa
Bangladesh Lesotho Seychelles
Barbados Malawi Sierra Leone
Belize Malaysia Singapore
Botswana   Solomon Islands
Brunei Darussalam Malta South Africa
Cameroon Mauritius Sri Lanka
Canada Mozambique Swaziland
Cyprus Namibia United Republic of Tanzania
Dominica Nauru Tonga
Fiji Islands New Zealand Trinidad and Tobago
  Nigeria Tuvalu
Ghana Pakistan Uganda
Grenada Papua New Guinea Vanuatu
Guyana Rwanda Zambia
India St Kitts and Nevis Zimbabwe

British Overseas Territories

Anguilla Cayman Islands St Helena
Bermuda Falkland Islands St Helena dependencies (Ascension Island, Tristan da Cunha)
British Antarctic Territory Gibraltar South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
British Indian Ocean Territory Montserrat Turks and Caicos Islands
British Virgin Islands Pitcairn Island  

European Member states

Austria Estonia Ireland Portugal
Belgium Finland Latvia Romania
Bulgaria France Lithuania Slovakia
Croatia Germany Luxembourg Slovenia
Cyprus Greece Malta Spain
Czech Republic Hungary Netherlands Sweden
Denmark Italy Poland