Published: Tuesday, 3rd December 2019

Recycling it right this Christmas and New Year.

Over the Christmas and New Year period there may be changes to your waste and recycling collections. Please see the below table to find out when your waste and recycling is due to be collected. 

Normal collection day

Revised collection day

Monday, 23 December

Monday, 23 December*

Tuesday, 24 December

Tuesday, 24 December*

Wednesday, 25 December

Friday, 27 December*

Thursday, 26 December

Friday, 27 December*

Friday, 27 December

Saturday, 28 December*

Monday, 30 December

Monday, 30 December*

Tuesday, 31 December

Tuesday, 31 December*

Wednesday, 1 January 2020

Thursday, 2 January 2020*

Thursday, 2 January 2020

Friday, 3 January 2020*

Friday, 3 January 2020

Saturday, 4 January 2020*

*There will be no brown bin collections from Monday, 23 December to Saturday, 4 January 2020, inclusive.

  • Waste and recycling must be out by 7am. Crews will work until dusk.
  • Unfortunately, we will not be able to return for individual missed bins.
  • In the event of snow, services could be cancelled. Check the council’s social media channels for updates.
  • Bulky waste collections will not be provided from Monday, 23 December to Saturday, 4 January 2020, inclusive.

Christmas recycling tips

  • Christmas trees: leave any real trees next to your brown bin for collection
  • wrapping paper: if it’s made from paper, it’s recyclable - pop it in your blue re-useable bag. Foil paper cannot be recycled
  • bottles and cans: put these in your white reusable bag or a clear sack

Household Waste and Recycling Centres (HWRCs)

The council’s HWRCs at Cuxton, Capstone and Hoath Way (Gillingham) will be closed on Christmas Day and Boxing Day and Wednesday, 1 January 2020.

Free Christmas parking

There will be free parking for Christmas shopping in all council-run car parks between Thursday, 19 December to Sunday, 22 December, inclusive. 

Discover more about Christmas in Medway.

News archive