Published: Monday, 19th December 2022

The winners of the prestigious Medway Sports Awards have been announced.

Sporting stars Chris Waddle, Georgia-Mae Fenton and Danusia Francis-Reid were all in attendance at the glittering awards ceremony at Rochester Corn Exchange on Friday, 16 December.

The prestigious awards highlight the fantastic achievements of local clubs, teams, individuals and coaches as well as volunteers and schools. The Medway Sports Awards, organised by ourselves also celebrate, and shine a light on, Medway’s finest sportspeople and the dedication of everyone involved in sport in Medway.

The Medway Sports Awards also celebrate children and young people’s sporting achievements, which supports the council’s aspiration to make Medway even more child-friendly.

Medway champions sport at all levels

Cllr Howard Doe, Deputy Leader of Medway Council and Portfolio Holder for Community Services, said: “Congratulations to all the winners of the Medway Sports Awards. It was a fantastic night celebrating the accomplishments of Medway’s superb athletes, coaches and volunteers as well as professional and community clubs.

“Medway is fast becoming known as an area which champions sport at all levels. Our centre of sporting excellence, Medway Park in Gillingham, has hosted a number of international sporting events including the World Dancing Championships and is home to the England Wheelchair Rugby League team, Jumpers Rebound Centre in Gillingham recently hosted the David-Ward Hunt International Trampolining Event and we have welcomed Olympic, World and Commonwealth champion Adam Peaty OBE to Strood Sports Centre for his prestigious race clinics.

“If residents have been inspired to take up a new sport, we would encourage them to visit our website and see what clubs are on offer.

“I wish all of the winners of this year’s Medway Sports Awards the utmost success in everything that they do.”

An independent judging panel including representatives from Active Kent and Medway, University of Kent Sport, the Medway Messenger, as well as actress Balvinder Sopal and Paralympian Charlotte Evans MBE selected the winners.

The winners are:

  • Team of the Year, sponsored by the Medway Messenger.
    • Gold: Tornadoes Korfball Club and Academy
    • Silver: Chatham Town Football Club
    • Bronze: Medway City Football Club
  • Junior Team of the Year, sponsored by Bubble and Scruff
    • Gold: Medway Rugby Club under 18 girls team
    • Silver: The Medway Assassins Roller Hockey under 19s
    • Bronze: Kent Crusaders Basketball under 12s
  • Primary School of the Year sponsored by the Greenacre Sports Partnership
    • Gold: Swingate Primary School
    • Silver: The Academy of Woodlands
    • Bronze: Lordswood School
  • Official of the Year sponsored by Medway Sport
    • Gold: Jennifer Jelf
    • Silver: Mark Baker
    • Bronze: Ricky Ellis
  • Secondary School of the Year sponsored by A Better Medway
    • Gold: The Hundred of Hoo Academy
    • Silver: The Rochester Grammar School
    • Bronze: Brompton Academy
  • Coach of the Year sponsored by Bellway Homes
    • Gold: Glen Isaacs
    • Silver: Steven Munday
    • Bronze: Tom Coyd
  • Unsung Hero sponsored by The Laurence Plummer Foundation
    • Gold: Jon Rye
    • Silver: Andy Brown
    • Bronze: Sue Beveridge
  • Junior Club of the Year sponsored by Child-Friendly Medway
    • Gold: Medway Assassins Roller Hockey
    • Silver: Anchorians Football Club
    • Bronze: Medway Rugby Club Minis Section
  • Club of the Year sponsored by Active Kent and Medway
    • Gold: Anchorians Football Club
    • Silver: Medway Rugby Club
    • Bronze: Chatham Town Football Club
  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year sponsored by Bubble and Scruff
    • Gold: Enriko Itauma
    • Silver: Reuben Michael Smith
    • Bronze: Lauren Mitchell
  • Sportsperson of the Year sponsored by Bellway Homes
    • Gold: Joe Coyd
    • Silver: Shaunagh Brown
    • Bronze: Nicola Lilley

Chatham born Olympian Gary Smith, a trampoline gymnast who finished seventh at the 2004 Athens Olympics was inducted into the Medway Sport Hall of Fame alongside Isaac Newell who was an inspiration for football in Argentina in the 19th century.

The awards are sponsored by Bellway Homes.

Find out more about the Medway Sports Awards and the winners.

News archive