Gillingham and Rainham

I, Councillor Habib Tejan, the Worshipful Mayor of Medway, being the Returning Officer for the constituency give notice that the number of votes given for each candidate at the election was as follows:  

Candidate Party Vote
Alan James Bullion Liberal Democrats 2,503
Atta-Ur-Rehman Chishti, known as Rehman Chishti The Conservative Party Candidate 28,173
Peter Cook Independent 229
Rob McCulloch Martin UKIP Make Brexit Happen 837
Roger James Peacock Christian People's Alliance 119
George Bernard Salomon Green Party 1,043
Andrew Timothy Owen Stamp, known as Andy Stamp Labour Party 13,054

and declare that Atta-Ur-Rehman Chishti, known as Rehman Chishti has been elected as Member of Parliament for the constituency of Gillingham and Rainham.

The number of votes rejected and not counted by me at this election was:

  • For want of official mark: 0
  • For voting for more than one candidate: 14 
  • For writing or marks by which the voter could be identified: 2
  • For being unmarked or voided for uncertainty: 122
  • Total: 138

Verification statement

I, Neil Davies, the Acting Returning Officer, having concluded the verification of ballot papers, declare that:

  • The total number of verified ballot papers from the polling stations: 35,578
  • The total number of verified postal ballot papers: 10,519
  • The total number of ballot papers verified: 46,097
  • The electorate as of today: 73,549
  • Turnout: 62.68%