I, Neil Davies, being the Returning Officer at the election of Councillors for Gillingham North ward held on Thursday 4 May 2023 do hereby give notice that the number of votes given for each candidate at the election was as follows:

Surname Other names Description Number of votes
Barrett Clayton Conservative Party candidate 530
Chishti Zarina Bibi Conservative Party candidate 439
Hamandishe Douglas Kudakwashe Labour and Co-operative Party 1,355
Mandaracas Lia Helen Labour and Co-operative Party 1,339
Price Adam Robert William Labour and Co-operative Party 1,419
Rist Ben Darryl Liberal Democrats 254
Sidhu Harbans Singh Conservative Party candidate 410
Spyby-Steanson Jeremy Green Party 340

And declare that:

  • Douglas Kudakwashe Hamandishe
  • Lia Helena Mandaracas
  • Adam Robert William Price

Have been duly elected as the councillors for the ward.

The number of votes rejected or not counted by me at this election was:

Reason Number of votes
For want of official mark 0
For voting for more candidates than entitled  3
For writing or marks by which the voter could be identified 0
For being unmarked or voided for uncertainty 24
Total 27

Verification statement

As Returning Officer, I declare that having concluded the verification of ballot papers:

  • The total number of verified ballot papers from the polling stations: 1,347
  • The total number of verified postal ballot papers: 880
  • The total number of ballot papers verified: 2,227
  • The electorate as of today: 10,237
  • Turnout: 21.75%

Neil Davies, Returning Officer, 5 May 2023