I, Neil Davies, being the Returning Officer at the election of Councillors for Gillingham South ward held on Thursday 4 May 2023 do hereby give notice that the number of votes given for each candidate at the election was as follows:

Surname Other names Description Number of votes
Adeoye Sijuwade Adenike (commonly known as Siju Adeoye) Conservative Party candidate 471
Belmonte Daniel Luis Green Party 373
Georghiou George Conservative Party candidate 373
Khan Naushabah Parveen Labour and Co-operative Party 1,531
McDonald Rory Craig (commonly known as Dan McDonald) Labour and Co-operative Party 1,617
Prenter Louwella Margaret Labour and Co-operative Party 1,491
Sams Christopher John Liberal Democrats 322
Smith Amy Conservative Party candidate 509

And declare that:

  • Naushabah Parveen Khan
  • Dan McDonald
  • Louwella Margaret Prenter

Have been duly elected as the councillors for the ward.

The number of votes rejected or not counted by me at this election was:

Reason Number of votes
For want of official mark 0
For voting for more candidates than entitled  12
For writing or marks by which the voter could be identified 0
For being unmarked or voided for uncertainty 51
Total 63

Verification statement

As Returning Officer, I declare that having concluded the verification of ballot papers:

  • The total number of verified ballot papers from the polling stations: 1,608
  • The total number of verified postal ballot papers: 870
  • The total number of ballot papers verified: 2,478
  • The electorate as of today: 11,085
  • Turnout: 22.35%

Neil Davies, Returning Officer, 5 May 2023