I, Neil Davies, being the Returning Officer at the election of a Councillor for St Mary’s Island ward held on Thursday 4 May 2023 do hereby give notice that the number of votes given for each candidate at the election was as follows:

Surname Other names Description Number of votes
Bowes Caroline Mary Green Party 47
Castle John Edward Liberal Democrats 323
Hodges David Christopher Graham Labour Party 224
Tejan Habib Odunlamin Sulaiman Local Conservatives 479

And declare that:

  • Habib Tejan

has been duly elected as the councillor for the ward.

The number of votes rejected or not counted by me at this election was:

Reason Number of votes
For want of official mark 0
For voting for more than one candidate 1
For writing or marks by which the voter could be identified 0
For being unmarked or voided for uncertainty 2
Total 3

Verification statement

As Returning Officer, I declare that having concluded the verification of ballot papers:

  • The total number of verified ballot papers from the polling stations: 673
  • The total number of verified postal ballot papers: 403
  • The total number of ballot papers verified: 1,076
  • The electorate as of today: 3,284
  • Turnout: 32.76%

Neil Davies, Returning Officer, 5 May 2023