Gillingham and Rainham

I, Neil Davies, being the Acting Returning Officer for the constituency hereby give notice that the number of votes given for each candidate was as follows:

Candidate  Party Vote

Paul Chaplin

Liberal Democrats


Atta-Ur-Rehman Chishti (known as Rehman Chishti)

The Conservative Party


Martin Anthony Cook



Clive Bryn Malcolm Gregory

Green Party


Roger James Peacock

Christian Peoples Alliance


Andrew Timothy Owen Stamp (known as Andy Stamp)

Labour Party


I, Neil Davies, declare that Rehman Chishti has been elected as Member of Parliament for the constituency of Gillingham and Rainham.

The number of votes rejected and not counted at this election was:

  • For want of Official Mark: 0
  • For voting for more than one candidate: 21
  • For writing or marks by which the voter could be identified: 0
  • For being unmarked or voided for uncertainty: 69
  • Total: 90

Verification statement

The Acting Returning Officer, having concluded the verification of ballot papers, declares that:

  • The total number of verified ballot papers from the polling stations: 38,103
  • The total number of verified postal ballot papers: 10,855
  • The total number of ballot papers verified: 48,958
  • The electorate: 72,903
  • Turnout: 67.15%

Neil Davies, Acting Returning Officer, 9 June 2017