Go to navigation

Nomination Categories

The awards are broken down into three elements - Culture, Design and Tourism. Each element has a number of categories that falls within it, and nominations can be made for any of these categories, listed below:



Recognises innovation and achievement in all media; including newspapers, radio, television, web, gaming, webcasting, mobile, video, podcasting, App production, film production, documentaries, animation video, audio production – and is open to both professional filmmakers and individuals

Fashion and design

Recognises outstanding contribution in breaking new ground or demonstrating new techniques/new approaches and design solutions. Open to designers in any discipline.


The music award recognises excellence and achievement in music. Open to composers, bands, orchestras, choirs, individuals, management companies/labels etc.


Including all forms of creative writing, fiction, non-fiction, poetry and may also include spoken artists – this award recognises excellence and achievement in the field of literature. Open for entries from any writers of any age, in any discipline

Visual Arts

Recognises excellence and achievement in visual arts. Open to artists and makers, as well as organisations across contemporary visual and applied arts – including photography, public art, community art and decorative art.

Performing arts

The performing arts award recognises outstanding achievement of individual performers, groups and organisations – reaching and developing new audiences including performance, choreography, and design.


New build (completed)

This award is for a single building or a group of buildings. The building(s) can be residential, commercial, community, educational or industrial.

Heritage project

The heritage project award is for either an extension, refurbishment, conversion, or restoration of historic buildings or a new building within an historic context or a heritage-based project.

Open spaces and public realm

Recognises the innovative and creative use of parks, gardens, play/recreational areas, street or public space and that makes a positive contribution to the quality and appearance of the environment and delivers high-quality public realm experience that benefits both people and place.


Hotel of the year

Recognises excellence in the provision of hotel accommodation including customer care, provision of food and quality of rooms and facilities within Medway.

Bed & Breakfast

This award is for the best of local Bed and Breakfasts. It recognises excellence in providing quality accommodation and customer service to guests within Medway.

Visitor attraction

This award celebrates excellence in the provision of visitor experience for customers – it includes small to large attractions as well as a visitor experience, which demonstrates innovation and the best in quality.

Outstanding customer care

Recognises the provision of exceptional customer care and can be an individual or team dealing with customers at any cultural related business or organisation. It is about an individual or team going the extra mile in pursuit of excellent customer care.

Flavour of the year

This award recognises the best in food and drink in Medway. It includes restaurants, cafes, caterers, pubs, wine producers, local producers as well as farm produce.

Design style