Types of election

There are different types of elections that you can get involved in and have your say.

General elections

The last Parliamentary General Election took place on 12 December 2019.

In this type of election, voters decide who they want to represent them in Parliament. The candidate who receives the most votes for the constituency becomes a Member of Parliament (MP). The UK Parliament makes decisions and passes laws on a wide range of issues that affect you.

Find your MP

Medway is made up of the constituencies of Chatham and Aylesford, Gillingham and Rainham, and Rochester and Strood.

Local elections

Due to recent ward boundary reviews, Medway Council is divided into 24 Electoral Wards and each ward is represented by local Councillors – 59 in total. In local elections, you can vote for a councillor to represent your ward. In Medway, local elections are held every 4 years.

Find out about ward changes.

Your poll card letter that you will receive by post will show which ward your property is allocated to and the ballot paper at the polling station will tell you how many votes you can cast.

Find your local councillor

Parish elections

There are 11 parishes in Medway, all in the Rochester area. Each parish is represented by a number of parish councillors.

Parish elections are held every 4 years to coincide with the local elections. 

Police and Crime Commissioner for Kent

Elections for the Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) for Kent are held every 4 years. The Kent PCC is responsible for holding the Chief Constable and police force to account on the public's behalf.

The last Police and Crime Commissioner for Kent election took place on Thursday 6 May 2021.

Find out about the Kent Police and Crime Commissioner Election.

Find out more about the Police and Crime Commissioner for Kent.