Training and development

We have an extensive training agenda for all new and experienced carers. 

We are committed to supporting children and carers through development, and regularly review the courses offered. 

This year we hope to introduce Neurological Sequencing and Development, and Emotional Wellbeing for Children and Carers.

Training Support Groups not only develop your learning and knowledge, they also help to create your own fostering network and enhance your peer support.

Completion of your training is recognised after your Annual Review, which generates your one-off training payment.

Mandatory training for primary carers

All primary foster carers must complete the courses below every 3 years.

Mandatory courses include:

  • Equality and diversity
  • GDPR Foundation Training
  • Keeping good records
  • Medication awareness and safe handling of medicines
  • Online safety – risks to children
  • Safeguarding children – level one
  • Understanding behaviour of children and young people
  • Understanding child development
  • First Aid
  • New training around the brain
  • New training around emotional wellbeing/regulation.

Mandatory training for secondary carers

All secondary foster carers must complete the courses below every 3 years.

Mandatory courses include:

  • equality and diversity
  • GDPR Foundation Training
  • safeguarding children – level 1
  • understanding behaviour of children and young people
  • understanding child development
  • First Aid – in house training.

Foundation Level

Foundation Level carers and connected carers must:

  • complete all mandatory training within the first year of being approved as a foster carer
  • have both the main and secondary carers complete the induction course
  • complete the training, support and development
  • have both the main and secondary carer attend support groups.

Connected carers have 18 months to complete these requirements.

Intermediate Level

At Intermediate Level you must:

  • complete 10 trainings courses over the 12 month period
  • attend 4 support groups
  • evidence learning within care (shown in log books and evidenced in Annual Review and practice with the children in our care).

Intermediate Level courses include:

  • Autism awareness
  • Bullying and Cyber Bullying
  • Child Sexual Exploitation – Level 1
  • Eating disorders
  • Emotional abuse
  • Gangs and youth violence
  • Hidden harm – substance misuse, parental mental ill health and domestic abuse.
  • Loss and Bereavement
  • Neglect
  • Online Safety – for parents and carers
  • Personal safety – lone worker
  • Physical abuse
  • Self harm
  • Sexual abuse and recognising grooming
  • Substance misuse
  • Teenage pregnancy.

Enhanced Level

At Enhanced Level you must:

  • meet the intermediate level during the twelve months
  • complete 5 of the above listed enhanced courses
  • evidence your learning through logs and at Annual Reviews
  •  attend 4 support groups, two of which must be in your specialism
  • have trained as a peer mentor and have or be offering peer mentor support.

Enhanced Level courses include:

  • Child sexual exploitation – level 2
  • Female genital mutilation- GDPR practitioner training
  • Hate crime
  • Honour based violence and forced marriage
  • Human trafficking and modern day slavery
  • Mental capacity act 2005
  • Safeguarding awareness
  • Safeguarding adults – level 1
  • Safeguarding against radicalisation – The prevent duty
  • Safeguarding children – Level 1 – for education
  • Safeguarding children with disabilities.

There are additional courses available from the course library.